Games, Design & Game Design

Kickstarting Things

In Commentary, Links on August 20, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Now that I’m a Kickstarter myself, I’ve been checking out, and pledging to, other Kickstarter projects. That’s how they getcha.

So, here’s some projects that I would like to bring to your attention:

Bears – Yes, it’s my friends band. But, as luck would have it, they’re really good, and I would very much like for them to be able to release a new album! You can check the tunes out at their website, or on Spotify, if you have it. Anyway, consider pitching in a couple bucks for an indie pop band to keep on doing their thing.

The Circus and the Cyclone – I came across this while browsing Kickstarter, and it hits me right in the sweet spot – circus, beautiful illustration, historical narrative, love stories, art prints, and so on. I want it to exist! Check it out!

DIYLILCNC – Attention maker-nerds! This project is something that a couple of folks who used to work in my department at SAIC have been working on forever, and I’m excited that it’s making progressive steps onwards. Basically, they’ve developed a set of opensource plans that enables an individual to build a desktop-sized CNC machine capable of fabricating 3D models for about $700 in material costs. Which is really amazing. I know there’s a number of these kinds of efforts out there, but I have a personal connection to these guys and I think they’re rad, so check it if yer interested in DIY making!

Animal Crime – Ben Lehman has a microgame up, and while it’s already surpassed the funding goal, I want to give a shout-out cuz I heart micro-publishing. It’s about a Marmot Detective, which is about all I know, but then again, what more do you need to know? More money means more art, so it’s not like pledging will hurt any, if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

