Games, Design & Game Design

Kickstarter Analytics 2

In Game Design, Publishing, Self-Reflection on July 15, 2011 at 3:22 pm

As promised, the numbers!

I ended up receiving $1,254 from the 69 backers of the project.

Expenses:

  • Art – $350
  • Proofreading – $15
  • Materials (inc. shipping) for the component sets – $154.77
  • Fees (Kickstarter + Amazon) – $117.01
  • Printing – 106.80
  • Shipping (I covered all shipping for all of the backer rewards and magazines) – 316.98

Total Expenses: 1060.56
Total Income: 1254
Total Profit: $193.44

Now, that’s not a very large number. In terms of expenses, I knew that shipping would be significant, but the number of international backers was higher than I thought it would be, and man but does shipping add up. Also, I had to purchase about twice as much plastic material than I actually used because of how that company breaks down it’s quantities (basically I needed more than the lowest quantity I could get, but only a little bit more).

But! The project ended up in the black, ended up basically paying me a little north of 5 cents a word, and will be a net positive for the rest of time.

Next time, I think I’m going to have to ask international backers to kick in a little extra to cover shipping. Other than that, I’m pretty happy with how it all went out (especially when 1/3 of the expenses are going into other creators pockets).

I hope some of these numbers are helpful to others interested in trying out similar projects!

Leave a Reply

