Games, Design & Game Design

New Style Interview

In Commentary, Promo, Roleplaying Games, Self-Reflection on July 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

Scott Dunphy interviewed me for his New Style podcast, which is now available for your listening pleasure.

We mostly talked about Be Ashamed Young Prince and how it compared/contrasted to my other games. I fear that I managed to talk too long about things that aren’t very interesting to anyone but me, and not long enough about useful things, but that’ll be for you to find out!

That conversation also made me realize that I think I’ve officially tipped over into the “old guard” at some point. I mean, I was referencing Game Chef 2005 for heaven’s sake! Which is funny, because I feel like I still have a lot to learn from designers who more active in the early 2000’s, and their games still have a lot to teach us. Almost to the extent that I don’t really have a good handle on the games that have come out in the last couple of years (tho, to be fair, grad school).

Anyhow, I forgot how much I like talking about this stuff to a captive audience, so many thanks to Scott for interviewing me, and I hope it’s an entertaining listen.

Leave a Reply

