Games, Design & Game Design

Early Sketches

In Design Process, Product Design, Sketches on September 26, 2010 at 8:50 pm

I’m not a very talented 2D artist. But design is all about communication, and visual communication is usually the most efficient way to transmit information. So, we do a lot of sketching in my program. I’m really jealous of my peers who can sketch well (i.e. make a sketch aesthetically pleasing in addition to demonstrating an idea), but at least I’ve gotten to the point where my sketches (seem) to show what I want them to show.

I just turned in my initial set of sketches for the class that will be taking me to the International Furniture Faire in Milan (henceforth known as “the Milan class”). The point here isn’t to have a fully-developed product, but rather to investigate and explore an array of directions stemming from my core concept. I’m exploring the idea of re-materialization of value; in a world where money and hence value is increadingly immaterial, what does it mean to re-materialize icons of value into new, useful forms?

Check out some sketches after the jump (click to embiggen).

Piggy Bank Crucible Kettle

Piggy Bank Crucible Kettle

Digital Chair

Digital Chair

Various Sketches

Various Sketches

Penny Lamp

Penny Lamp

Various Sketches

Various Sketches

Leave a Reply

